Permanent lighting

Gemstone vs Trimlight: Warranty, Nodes and Dealer Terms

Both sell a lifetime warranty: Gemstone's covers the lights plus 10 years on parts, Trimlight's covers parts. Spacing, white and territory compared.

  • 12 minread time
  • 4tables
  • 13sources checked
  • 6questions answered
On this page15 sections
  1. Gemstone vs Trimlight side by side
  2. Both say lifetime. What does each one cover?
  3. Who carries the labour after year one?
  4. Warm white diode or RGB mix: which white sells?
  5. How does spacing change your good-better-best?
  6. Protected territory or open market?
  7. What does each one cost to start?
  8. Worked example: the install, then a year-three service call
  9. When to choose Gemstone
  10. When to choose Trimlight
  11. Where Gemstone and Trimlight warranty promises go wrong
  12. Homeowners: what does lifetime mean on your house?
  13. Writing the warranty into the quote
  14. Questions installers ask
  15. Sources

Gemstone and Trimlight both sell a lifetime warranty, and the difference is in the fine print. Gemstone's warranty page gives its track lights a lifetime term and controllers and track for 10 years, if registered within 30 days. Trimlight's covers standard residential parts for their estimated lifespan, with ridge lights at 1 year. Trimlight sells 6, 9 or 12 inch spacing in protected territories from $5,499; Gemstone sells one 9 inch warm white node with no territories.

Written by the GlowBid founder; facts checked on each brand's site on October 25, 2026. Trimlight publishes its own Gemstone comparison; where I use it, the claim is credited to Trimlight. Neither company has a relationship with GlowBid.

Gemstone vs Trimlight side by side#

The table is built from each brand's own product, warranty and dealer pages. Rows go from the node out to the dealer agreement.

Gemstone Lights Trimlight
Node spacing 9 in 6, 9 or 12 in
Node build 3 LEDs per light, 4 diodes each (RGB plus warm white); IP67 Classic: 1 LED, 0.6 W, IP68; 3L and commercial bulbs have 3 LEDs (Trimlight's comparison)
White Dedicated warm white diode, 2800K to 7000K RGB; warm, cool and custom whites set in the app (Trimlight's comparison)
Rated life 50,000 hours 50,000+ hours per bulb
Track or channel Over 150 track types and colours Aluminum channel, bulbs protrude and point down; over 50 standard colours plus custom
Controller and app Hub2 (Hub from 2017); app with no monthly fees, works over Bluetooth Edge app, voice control, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi; 12 V system
Warranty headline Lights lifetime; system parts 10 years; register in 30 days All parts for estimated lifespan; ridge lights 1 year
Labour Not covered by Gemstone At least 1 year, from the dealer
Territory No exclusive territories Protected, from your zip code
Dealer entry No fee; starter inventory; 5 years in business and $2 million revenue $5,000 plus $499, or $10,000 plus $499, mostly credited to product
Published price Not published $18 to $35 per linear foot

All five big brands share one table on the permanent lighting brands compared hub. Here we take the two lifetime warranties apart line by line.

Interactive

Price this house

Move the sliders. The total comes from the same pricing engine GlowBid quotes with, on the default rate card.

Seasonal install164 lit ft

  • Roofline140 ft at $8.00/ft$1,120
  • Peaks (2)24 ft at $9.00/ft$216
  • Peak pitch premium15% on peak runs$32
  • Jumps (2)12 ft unlit at $4.00/ft$53
  • Storey premium10% for 2 storeys$138
Total$1,555

Deposit at signing (30%): $466

On GlowBid's default rate card; yours will differ. Measure a real house free

Both say lifetime. What does each one cover?#

Gemstone's lifetime is on the lights; Trimlight's is on the parts. That one word moves the controller, the track and the power supply into different columns.

Component Gemstone Trimlight
Roofline lights Lifetime, on a manufacturer estimate of 50,000 hours Lifetime, "for the manufacturers estimated lifespan of the parts"
Ridge lights Not broken out 1 year
Controller 10 years Control board under lifetime parts; software and Wi-Fi interference not covered
Track or channel 10 years Under lifetime parts; the labour clause names channel finish
Power kits, cables, connectors 10 years Under lifetime parts; the labour clause names power supply parts and connections
Floods, patio, landscape Flood and patio lights 5 years Landscape lights 10 years; globe lens 2 years
Registration Within 30 days of install, or not honoured Registration page linked; terms not stated on the warranty page
Transfer Once, within 90 days of the new owner taking the house Not stated on the warranty page
Fee if the part works Not stated Minimum $75

What "lifetime" means in years is worth doing on paper. Gemstone states 50,000 hours. A house that runs warm white 6 hours a night every night uses that up in about 23 years; at 12 hours a night, about 11. Trimlight's warranty page does not give an hour figure and says holiday-only use could reach 30 to 40 years and properly used components average 20 to 30. Either way, the homeowner who runs security white all night every night is the one to explain this to before they sign.

50,000 hGemstone's stated lifetime basis
23 yearsat 6 hours a night
11 yearsat 12 hours a night

Who carries the labour after year one?#

You do, on both, and on Gemstone you carry it from day one. Trimlight's page says labour comes from the local dealer for at least 1 full year, covering repairs of defective parts such as bulbs, power supply parts, controllers, connections and channel finish, and that some dealers offer longer. Gemstone's page says labour costs are not covered by Gemstone and your dealer may offer its own labour warranty.

That makes the Gemstone labour term entirely yours to write. Pick one, put it in the agreement, and price it into the install. On Trimlight the floor is set for you at one year.

The clause that says who pays the ladder in year three is in our permanent lighting installation agreement template, and the call-out pricing is on service call and repair pricing.

Warm white diode or RGB mix: which white sells?#

Gemstone's spec sheet answers the white question more directly, with a dedicated warm white diode in every LED and whites from 2800K to 7000K; the full node build is on our JellyFish vs Gemstone page. For this pair, the useful number is power: up to 46 lumens and at most 1 W per Gemstone light at full white, against 0.6 W for Trimlight's single-LED Classic bulb.

Trimlight's own Gemstone comparison (accurate as of March 1, 2026, by its own date) describes Trimlight as RGB, with warm white, cool white and custom whites set in the app, and Gemstone as RGBWW. It also sells three bulb styles: the Classic with 1 LED, and the 3L and commercial bulbs with 3 LEDs. Trimlight's bulbs protrude from the channel and point down; Trimlight describes Gemstone's as puck-shaped.

What this means at the door: the customer who wants architectural white most nights of the year will ask about the warm white. The customer who wants the bulbs visible from the street, or a denser look, will ask about spacing and bulb style. Show both at night on the same fascia before you promise a colour temperature.

How does spacing change your good-better-best?#

On Trimlight, spacing is the ladder; on Gemstone, scope is. Trimlight's 12, 9 and 6 inch options let you sell three packages on one roofline. On 150 lit feet that is 150, 200 or 300 nodes, so three product lines at three per-foot rates. Gemstone lists 9 inches only, which is 200 lights on the same 150 ft. Its good-better-best has to come from scope: front only, all sides, then floods, patio or deck lights, which Gemstone also sells.

Our good-better-best lighting packages guide shows how to lay those out on one quote without three separate drawings.

Protected territory or open market?#

Trimlight sells a map; Gemstone does not. Trimlight's territory starts at your zip code, runs a maximum one-hour commute edge to edge, and must cover every zip code in a city. The owner must live inside it. No dealer may market inside another's territory, though a neighbouring dealer can still sell a job in yours, and you do not have to hand over leads that fall in theirs. You must hit quota to grow it, and a year below 10 percent of quota with little contact can see it reopened to another dealer.

Gemstone's dealer page says there are no exclusive territories. The trade is plain: no territory fee, and no protection. If another Gemstone dealer opens across town, you are both selling the same brand to the same street.

What does each one cost to start?#

Trimlight's door has a price on it; Gemstone's has a bar in front of it.

  • Trimlight: a one-time $5,499 (30 zip codes or fewer) or $10,499 (31 or more). Only the $499 demo kit and colour chips is spent; the rest comes back as product credit. No royalties. Training is two days in Salt Lake City on your own travel budget. The money buys the map.
  • Gemstone: no dealer fee, but starter inventory (its pages say up to $10,000, or roughly $10,000 to $15,000 excluding track), $2 million in liability insurance and a first job approved by a Gemstone rep, plus an unpublished annual minimum. The program page asks for 5 years in business and $2 million in annual revenue. The full onboarding list is on our JellyFish vs Gemstone page.

So Trimlight charges cash for protection, and Gemstone asks for a track record and offers no protection. For a Canadian installer, Gemstone is a Calgary company with ETL certification for Canada and the US; Trimlight is in Canada too: its dealer locator lists 330+ authorized dealers across the US and six provinces, Ontario among them, so check whether your area is already a territory before you plan on either.

Worked example: the install, then a year-three service call#

A two-storey with a front gable: 96 ft of roofline (40 ft on the upper storey), a 20 ft ridge line, 34 ft of peaks and one 8 ft jump. That is 150 lit feet, measured from one owned photo with the front door as the reference. You can price this house in the free tool and check the footage by run. GlowBid's default track line, US dollars before tax; installers set their own rates.

Cost stack

Total6 lines

$4,440.80

  1. 1Roofline$2,400
  2. 2Ridge line$500
  3. 3Upper storey premium$100
  4. 4Peaks$1,094.80
  5. 5Jump$96
  6. 6Wi-Fi controller$250
Drawn from the table below. Read the lines
Line Footage Rate Amount
Roofline 96 ft $25 per ft $2,400.00
Ridge line 20 ft $25 per ft $500.00
Upper storey premium 40 ft of roofline 10 percent $100.00
Peaks 34 ft $28 per ft plus 15 percent pitch premium $1,094.80
Jump 8 ft $12 per ft $96.00
Wi-Fi controller 1 $250 $250.00
Total $4,440.80
Deposit to book, 30 percent $1,332.24

That is $29.61 per lit foot, inside Trimlight's published $18 to $35. On Gemstone it is 200 lights at 9 inches; on Trimlight it is 150, 200 or 300 nodes depending on the spacing sold.

Now year three. One node on the ridge line goes dark in December. Here is who pays what, using our $125 example call-out setting:

Year three, one dead node Gemstone, registered Gemstone, never registered Trimlight, roofline node Trimlight, ridge light
The part $0, lifetime on track lights Not honoured; part at your cost $0, lifetime parts Your cost; ridge lights are 1 year
The ladder Yours, or the homeowner's per your agreement Same Same; the dealer labour floor was year one Same
Example call-out $125 $125 $125 $125

The install price did not change with the brand. The year-three bill did, and it depends on two things you control: registering the warranty, and what your agreement says about labour. Footage from a photo is an estimate; confirm it on site before track or channel is cut.

When to choose Gemstone#

Pick Gemstone over Trimlight when the warranty paragraph is your strongest sales line: lifetime on the lights with no 1 year exception for a ridge light, and 10 years on controllers and track. It also suits a contractor who already meets the 5 year and $2 million bar and would rather not pay for a map. Accept that there is no territory, and that every labour promise is yours to write and price.

When to choose Trimlight#

Pick Trimlight over Gemstone when you are newer than Gemstone's bar allows, when you want a dealer labour floor already set at one year, or when your packages are built on spacing rather than scope. The territory keeps other Trimlight dealers from marketing on your street. Note the ridge light term is 1 year, and price ridge lines knowing that.

Where Gemstone and Trimlight warranty promises go wrong#

  • Printing "lifetime" with no detail. Gemstone's covers the lights; Trimlight's covers parts but ridge lights get 1 year. Print the real terms in the scope block.
  • Charging nothing for a year-three call on an unregistered Gemstone job. The part is not covered and the ladder is yours. Registration is the cheapest step on install day.
  • Leaving Gemstone labour blank. Gemstone covers none, so you set it. Write the term and price it.
  • Selling a Trimlight territory as a guarantee. A neighbouring dealer can still sell a job inside it. Promise protection from marketing, not from every competitor.
  • Treating the ridge line like the roofline. On Trimlight the ridge light term is 1 year. Price the year-two part into the ridge run or the service fee.
  • Promising all-night security white on a lifetime warranty without the arithmetic. At 12 hours a night, 50,000 hours is about 11 years.

Homeowners: what does lifetime mean on your house?#

Ask the dealer what "lifetime" covers on the system you are buying, whether ridge lights or floods have shorter terms, who pays the labour after year one, and, on Gemstone, whether the warranty was registered within 30 days. On Trimlight, ask which spacing is on the quote. Trimlight publishes $18 to $35 per foot installed; Gemstone does not publish a price. Ask for footage by run either way.

Writing the warranty into the quote#

Trimlight's territory and quota assume you sell Trimlight in your zip codes, and Gemstone's program is built for established dealers, so ask both in writing before you carry the pair. Whichever you carry, the warranty wording is where these two differ most, so it belongs on the quote the customer signs, not in a brochure.

In GlowBid, each brand and spacing is its own product line, drawn once on a photo you own; the footage, bill of materials and price come from the same runs, and the scope block on the quote PDF holds the brand's warranty terms and your labour term. The customer signs on their phone and pays a Stripe deposit, which carries Stripe processing plus a GlowBid platform margin under 1 percent, shown before you connect Stripe. When the year-three call comes, the signed scope block is the page you and the homeowner both read. Core is $69 a month or $299 a year, with a 7-day trial, no card, and a 30-day money-back on a first yearly payment. See the pricing. For the other side of each brand, read JellyFish vs Gemstone and Trimlight vs Oelo.

FAQ

Questions installers ask

Is Gemstone's or Trimlight's lifetime warranty better?

They cover different things. Gemstone's page gives the track lights a lifetime warranty on a 50,000 hour estimate and everything else, controllers and track included, 10 years. Trimlight's page covers all parts on standard residential lights for their estimated lifespan, with ridge lights at 1 year. Gemstone's is void if not registered within 30 days. Neither manufacturer pays labour; Trimlight requires its dealers to give at least one year.

Does Trimlight or Gemstone have a true warm white?

Gemstone says so on its spec sheet: a separate warm white diode in each LED, with whites from 2800K to 7000K. Trimlight's own Gemstone comparison describes Trimlight as RGB, with warm, cool and custom whites mixed in the app, and Gemstone as RGBWW. A mixed white and a diode white can look different on the same house, so run a night demo of both before you quote a colour temperature.

Do I get a protected territory with Trimlight or Gemstone?

With Trimlight, yes. The territory starts at your zip code, runs about one hour edge to edge, the owner must live in it, and no other dealer may market inside it, though a neighbouring dealer can still sell a job there. You must hit quota to keep it. Gemstone's dealer page says plainly there are no exclusive territories, so another Gemstone dealer can sell on your street.

How much does it cost to become a Gemstone or Trimlight dealer?

Trimlight: $5,000 plus $499 for 30 zip codes or fewer, or $10,000 plus $499 for more, with everything past the $499 demo kit credited to product, plus two days of training in Salt Lake City. Gemstone: no fee, but starter inventory (its pages say up to $10,000, or roughly $10,000 to $15,000 excluding track), $2 million in liability insurance and an approved first job.

What spacing should I quote on Trimlight versus Gemstone?

On Gemstone, 9 inches, because that is the only spacing it lists. On Trimlight, quote the spacing the customer saw in the mockup: 12, 9 or 6 inches. On 150 lit feet that is 150, 200 or 300 Trimlight nodes against 200 Gemstone lights. Give each spacing its own product line and per-foot rate, since the node count changes your cost.

Who pays for the ladder when a node fails in year three?

You do, unless your agreement says the homeowner does. Both manufacturers cover the part in year three: Trimlight for the part's estimated lifespan, Gemstone on its lifetime term for registered track lights. Neither manufacturer pays the labour, and Trimlight's one-year dealer minimum has run out by then. Write a service call fee into the agreement and price it so a December call is not a loss.

Sources

13 pages checked for this article

  1. Gemstone Lights: Warranty (lifetime track and deck lights on a 50,000 hour estimate, flood and patio 5 years, system parts 10 years, labour not covered, register within 30 days, transfer once within 90 days), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  2. Gemstone Lights: FAQ (9 in spacing, 3 LEDs with 4 diodes, 2800K to 7000K, IP67, no app fees, dealer installs only), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  3. Gemstone Lights: Permanent outdoor lighting (Hub2 and Hub, 46 lumens per light, 1 W per bulb, over 150 track types and colours), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  4. Gemstone Lights: Dealer Opportunity (no fee, no exclusive territories, starter inventory, $2 million liability, 90 day onboarding, approved first job), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  5. Gemstone Lights: The Authorized Dealer Program (5 years in business, $2 million annual gross revenue), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  6. Gemstone Lights: Where are Gemstone Lights designed and manufactured? (Calgary, Alberta), accessed October 25, 2026gemstonelights.com
  7. Trimlight: Lifetime Product Warranty (parts for estimated lifespan, ridge lights 1 year, landscape 10 years, labour minimum 1 year from the dealer, $75 minimum fee), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  8. Trimlight: Classic Bulb Product Info (6, 9, 12 in spacing, 12V, 0.6W per bulb, 1 LED, IP68, 50,000+ hours, Edge app), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  9. Trimlight: Become a Dealer ($5,000 or $10,000 plus $499, protected territory, 2 day training in Salt Lake City), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  10. Trimlight: Dealer Locations, 330+ Authorized Dealers Across Greater North America (six Canadian provinces listed), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  11. Trimlight: Pricing, Permanent Holiday Lighting Costs ($18 to $35 per linear foot), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  12. Trimlight: Trimlight vs Gemstone Lights (Trimlight's own comparison, accurate as of March 1, 2026), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com
  13. Trimlight: Trimlight vs Oelo (over 50 standard channel colours, Trimlight's own comparison, accurate as of May 9, 2024), accessed October 25, 2026trimlight.com