Permanent lighting

Trimlight vs JellyFish vs Gemstone vs EverLights vs Oelo

Five permanent lighting lines from the ladder: node spacing 6 to 16 in, 12 to 48 volt, labour warranty 1 year on every brand, dealer buy-in $0 to $10,499.

  • 13 minread time
  • 4tables
  • 25sources checked
  • 7questions answered
On this page11 sections
  1. What does each brand give the installer?
  2. How does node spacing change the quote?
  3. Channel or track: what changes on the ladder?
  4. Controllers, voltage and zones
  5. What does the warranty cost you?
  6. What does it cost to become a dealer?
  7. Worked example: one house, drawn once, priced on any line
  8. When to choose which
  9. Mistakes we have seen dealers make
  10. Questions installers ask
  11. Sources

Trimlight and JellyFish differ most on spacing and voltage. Trimlight's product pages list 6, 9 and 12 inch node spacing on a 12 volt system with a lifetime parts warranty; JellyFish's list 6, 9 and 16 inch spacing on a 48 volt track with 5 years on parts. Gemstone, EverLights and Oelo fill in the table below, from the ladder: nodes per foot, channel, controller, the labour warranty year and what a dealership costs to join.

Written by the GlowBid founder; product facts checked on each manufacturer's site on September 7, 2026. Oelo's site refused our fetch, so its rows come from search results of its own pages and a mirror of its 2023 dealer sheet, and are marked. Where a manufacturer describes a competitor, the claim is attributed to the manufacturer, not treated as fact.

What does each brand give the installer?#

Trimlight JellyFish Gemstone EverLights Oelo (via search results)
Node spacing 6, 9 or 12 in 6, 9 or 16 in 9 in; each light has 3 LEDs with 4 diodes (RGB plus warm white) 9 in (Trimlight's comparison page; EverLights' own pages do not state it) 10 in or closer in the acrylic channel
Channel or track Patented aluminum channel, "50+" colours Track colour-matched to the soffit at the measure Track, "over 150" types and colours, custom depth Aluminum channel, 25 colour-matching options on its site (Trimlight says 60); ClickLights kits in 5 colours Acrylic channel in 9 standard colours, paintable; powder-coated metal channel
Controller and power Trimlight Edge app, 12 V system, 180 presets, music sync Omega Chip controller, 48 V DC lights, 12 V controller, 250 ft of lights per controller, more power supplies per controller Hub2 controller (Hub since 2017), 8 by 11 in box, no app fees, unlimited users Wireless receiver plus Smart Bridge, up to 20 receivers per bridge; ClickLights run on 24 V App; 100,000 hour rating
Parts warranty Lifetime, for the estimated component lifespan (about 50,000 hours); ridge lights 1 year 5 years on the product page; holiday lighting page says 3 years Lifetime on the lights, all other components 10 years; transferable once; register within 30 days 5 years if installed by EverLights, 1 year DIY; Classic white 15 years 7 years on dealer installs, 5 years contractor or DIY, from January 1, 2024
Labour warranty 1 year minimum, from the dealer 1 year 1 year, from the dealer 1 year when installed by EverLights Not stated on the pages we could see
Dealer buy-in (published) $5,000 plus $499 (30 zip codes or fewer) or $10,000 plus $499; no royalties; protected territory; 2 day training in Salt Lake City No franchise or territory fees; "different opening purchase levels," not priced No fee, no exclusive territory; $10,000 to $15,000 initial inventory; $2M liability; 5 years in business and $2M revenue on the program page "Minimal startup costs," no figures Contractor tier at no cost; Authorized $5,000; Preferred and Platinum above that (see the dealer section)
Published price per foot $18 to $35 $25 to $35 plus $650 to $850 controller, corporate locations Not published; dealers set it Not published; DIY 100 ft kit $1,675 Not published

Every figure in that table is on the linked page today except the Oelo column, which we could not load. Dealers set the installed price for all five, so the price row is the manufacturer's public range, not what your customer will pay. Our permanent lighting cost page has the dealer quotes.

Interactive

Price this house

Move the sliders. The total comes from the same pricing engine GlowBid quotes with, on the default rate card.

Seasonal install164 lit ft

  • Roofline140 ft at $8.00/ft$1,120
  • Peaks (2)24 ft at $9.00/ft$216
  • Peak pitch premium15% on peak runs$32
  • Jumps (2)12 ft unlit at $4.00/ft$53
  • Storey premium10% for 2 storeys$138
Total$1,555

Deposit at signing (30%): $466

On GlowBid's default rate card; yours will differ. Measure a real house free

How does node spacing change the quote?#

It changes your cost, not the customer's arithmetic. A house has the same lit footage whichever brand you draw on it; what changes is how many nodes go into that footage and what each one costs you. On 170 lit feet:

Spacing Nodes on 170 ft Who sells it
6 in 340 Trimlight, JellyFish
9 in 227 Trimlight, JellyFish, Gemstone, EverLights
10 in 204 Oelo acrylic channel (10 in or closer)
12 in 170 Trimlight
16 in 128 JellyFish

Twice the nodes at 6 inches against 12 means roughly twice the LED cost per foot on the same channel and the same ladder time, so the two should not share a per-foot rate. The way we handle it is one product line per brand and spacing on the rate card: a 9 inch track line and a 6 inch track line each with their own roofline, ridge line, peak and jump rates. The customer picks the spacing from the mockup; the quote picks the line. The permanent per-foot pricing guide sets the base rates.

Gemstone's node is a different animal: three LEDs per light, four diodes each, with a warm white diode alongside red, green and blue. That is what a dedicated warm white looks like on a spec sheet, and it matters for the customer who wants architectural white eleven months a year. Trimlight, JellyFish and EverLights all publish warm white as a colour setting; whether it comes from a separate diode or a mix is not stated on the pages we read, so ask before you promise a colour temperature.

Channel or track: what changes on the ladder?#

All five hide the nodes in a colour-matched extrusion under the eave; the differences are material, colour count and where it mounts. Trimlight's channel is patented aluminum with "50+" colours on its comparison pages. Gemstone claims "over 150" track types and colours and will custom-fit the depth. JellyFish colour-matches the track to the soffit at the measurement visit. EverLights lists 25 colour-matching channel options on its own site and installs on the top lip of the gutter or in the drip edge, which is a different mounting position from an under-soffit channel and worth a look at the fascia before you quote. Oelo is the odd one: an acrylic channel with the LEDs behind a translucent lens, nine standard colours and paintable, plus a metal channel option.

From the ladder, three things decide the day: how the channel cuts and joins at a hip or a return, how it handles a jump between two lit runs, and whether the colour will still match in year four after the fascia is repainted. None of the manufacturers publishes a jump method on the pages we read, and every quote should price jumps as their own run at their own rate; the method is in ridge lines, peaks and jumps pricing.

Controllers, voltage and zones#

Voltage decides how far a run goes before it needs power again, and that decides how many controller and power supply lines are on the quote. Trimlight publishes a 12 V system; EverLights' ClickLights run on 24 V; JellyFish runs the lights at 48 V DC with a 12 V controller and states 250 ft of lights per controller, with more power supplies added per controller for longer runs. Gemstone's Hub2 controls the system from an 8 by 11 inch box and the app has no monthly fee. EverLights pairs wireless receivers with a Smart Bridge, up to 20 receivers per bridge. Oelo's controller specs were not readable to us.

What this means on the quote: the controller is its own line, always. GlowBid's default card carries a $250 Wi-Fi controller add-on, JellyFish prices its controller at $650 to $850 at corporate locations, and a long house or a back-and-front job needs a second zone priced as one. A quote that folds the controller into the per-foot rate looks cheaper than the dealer next door until the second power supply shows up on install day.

What does the warranty cost you?#

The labour year. Every brand in the table puts labour at 1 year (Oelo's pages did not state it), and every brand's parts warranty is longer than that, so from year two a dead node is a free part and a paid ladder. Whose ladder is the question your agreement answers, and the permanent lighting installation agreement template has the clause.

The parts terms are worth reading in full before you pick a line. Trimlight's lifetime warranty covers parts for the manufacturer's estimated lifespan of the component (about 50,000 hours), with ridge lights at 1 year and controls flagged as likely to change with technology. Gemstone puts a lifetime warranty on the lights and 10 years on every other component, including controllers and track, transfers once to a new owner, and is void if not registered within 30 days of install. JellyFish's product page says 5 years on parts and its holiday lighting page says 3, so get the number in writing on the dealer agreement. EverLights' warranty depends on who installed it: 5 years by EverLights, 1 year DIY, 15 years on the Classic white line, and the manufacturer warranty excludes labour outright. Oelo's search listing says 7 years on Authorized, Preferred and Platinum dealer installs and 5 on contractor or DIY installs from January 1, 2024.

What does it cost to become a dealer?#

From nothing to $10,499 up front, and the cheap door usually has the smaller discount.

  • Trimlight: $5,000 plus $499 for 30 zip codes or fewer, $10,000 plus $499 for 31 or more. The $499 is the demo kit and colour chips; the balance becomes product credit. No royalties, no monthly fees, a protected territory from your zip code outward, a required two-day training in Salt Lake City at your own travel cost, and a territory that can be reassigned if you fall below 10 percent of quota.
  • JellyFish: no franchise or territory fees, "different opening purchase levels," a dealer kit, dealer pricing and a dedicated specialist. The dollar figure is not on the page.
  • Gemstone: no application fee and no exclusive territories, an initial inventory of roughly $10,000 to $15,000, $2 million liability insurance, onboarding inside 90 days, a first install approved by a Gemstone rep and an annual minimum after that. The separate program page lists 5 years in business, $2 million revenue, sales and install staff and financing as what they look for.
  • EverLights: "minimal startup costs that include product," no figures published.
  • Oelo (via search results): a Contractor tier at no cost, an Authorized Dealer at $5,000 with a $5,000 to $24,999 annual purchase, then Preferred and Platinum tiers with larger commitments and larger discounts. The discount ladder differs between the December 2023 sheet we could read on a mirror (5, 15 and 25 percent off list) and the 2024 page as summarised in search results (20, 30 and 35 percent, Platinum at $70,000 a year), so confirm the current sheet with Oelo before you sign.

What the manufacturers give in exchange is on our permanent lighting dealer software page: portals, training, leads and marketing, and no quoting tool for your own price list from any of the five.

Worked example: one house, drawn once, priced on any line#

The house is the two-storey we price on the permanent pages: 122 ft of roofline (50 ft of it on the upper storey), 48 ft of peaks, three jumps totalling 18 ft, 170 lit feet. Measured from one owned photo with the 16 ft garage door as the reference; you can price this house in the free tool. GlowBid's default track line, US dollars before tax, the controller as its own add-on.

Cost stack

Total5 lines

$5,186.60

  1. 1Roofline$3,050
  2. 2Peaks$1,545.60
  3. 3Jumps$216
  4. 4Upper storey premium$125
  5. 5Wi-Fi controller$250
Drawn from the table below. Read the lines
Line Footage Rate Amount
Roofline 122 ft $25 per ft $3,050.00
Peaks 48 ft $28 per ft plus 15 percent pitch premium $1,545.60
Jumps 18 ft $12 per ft $216.00
Upper storey premium 50 ft of roofline 10 percent $125.00
Wi-Fi controller 1 $250 $250.00
Total $5,186.60
Deposit to book, 30 percent $1,555.98

That total is $30.51 per lit foot, inside Trimlight's $18 to $35 and JellyFish's $25 to $35 plus controller. Now the part the brand changes:

If the line is Nodes to order for 170 ft Controller lines Warranty text on the quote
Trimlight, 9 in 227 1 (12 V) Lifetime parts, 1 year labour
Trimlight, 6 in 340 1 Same, at a higher per-foot rate on its own line
JellyFish, 9 in 227 1 (250 ft limit not reached) 5 years parts, 1 year labour
Gemstone, 9 in 227 1 Hub2 Lifetime lights, 10 years components, 1 year labour
EverLights, 9 in 227 1 bridge plus receivers 5 years parts, 1 year labour, installed by EverLights
Oelo acrylic, 10 in 204 1 7 years on dealer installs (search result)

The drawing, the footage and the customer's price did not move. The node count, your cost per foot and the warranty paragraph did, which is why each brand and spacing is its own product line on the card and the quote PDF prints the right warranty text for the line you chose.

When to choose which#

Trimlight when you want a protected territory and a lifetime parts story to sell against seasonal lights, and you can fund $5,499 to $10,499 plus travel before the first job. Three spacings give you a good-better-best on one brand.

JellyFish when you want the lowest published door price and a 48 V track that runs 250 ft per controller, and your market already knows the name. Get the parts warranty term in writing, since two of its own pages disagree.

Gemstone when you are already an established exterior contractor (their program page asks for 5 years and $2 million in revenue), you install in Canada (ETL for both countries, dealers by province), and your customers ask for a dedicated warm white. The 10 year component warranty is the longest published on controllers and track.

EverLights when you want a line that also sells as a DIY kit, a gutter-lip mount that suits your fascia, and a low published startup. Confirm spacing, channel colours and dealer terms directly, because the public pages are thin.

Oelo when you want a paintable acrylic channel and a no-fee contractor tier to start on, and you are prepared to confirm every number in the table by phone, since the site would not load for us.

Mistakes we have seen dealers make#

  • One per-foot rate for every spacing. 6 inch nodes at a 12 inch price is a margin you never see. One line per spacing.
  • Controller inside the per-foot rate. The second zone on a long house shows up on install day as a free power supply. Controller as its own line, always.
  • Quoting the manufacturer's warranty as yours. Parts are theirs, the ladder after year one is yours. The agreement says which.
  • Not registering the warranty. Gemstone's is void after 30 days unregistered; EverLights' transfer needs registration within 90 days. Put it on the install checklist.
  • Believing a competitor's comparison page. Trimlight's page says JellyFish has one spacing; JellyFish's product page lists three today. Read the manufacturer's own product page for every figure.
  • Signing for a territory before checking the quota. Trimlight can reassign a territory under 10 percent of quota. Know the number before the $10,000.
  • Ordering nodes from the tape instead of the drawing. 170 lit feet at 9 inches is 227 nodes plus waste; a photo estimate confirmed on site, with a materials buffer you set (GlowBid's default is 10 percent), is what stops the second trip.

Whichever line you carry, the measurement disclaimer stays on the quote: footage came from a photo, it is an estimate, and it is confirmed on site before track is cut. In GlowBid the drawing, the footage, the bill of materials and the price are one object, each brand and spacing is a product line with its own rates and warranty text, and the controller is an add-on line. Founding prices for dealers are on the pricing page.

FAQ

Questions installers ask

Is Trimlight or JellyFish better for an installer?

Neither is better; they are different systems. Trimlight is a 12 volt channel system with 6, 9 and 12 inch spacing, a lifetime parts warranty and a paid protected territory. JellyFish is a 48 volt track with 6, 9 and 16 inch spacing, 5 years on parts, 250 ft of lights per controller and no territory fee. Pick by what your market asks for, what the dealer terms cost you, and which one you can service in January.

What node spacing should I quote?

Quote the spacing the customer saw in the mockup, and carry it as its own product line on the rate card. Tighter spacing means more nodes per foot: 170 lit feet is 340 nodes at 6 inches, 227 at 9, 170 at 12 and 128 at 16. Your material cost per foot changes with each, so a 6 inch line and a 12 inch line should not share a per-foot rate.

Which permanent lighting brand has the best warranty?

On paper, Trimlight and Gemstone: Trimlight covers parts for the estimated component lifespan and Gemstone puts a lifetime warranty on the lights and 10 years on every other component. Oelo publishes 7 years on dealer installs, JellyFish 5 years on parts, EverLights 5 years when professionally installed. Every one of them puts labour at 1 year, and after that the service call is the dealer's cost.

How much does it cost to become a Trimlight dealer?

$5,000 plus $499 for a territory of 30 zip codes or fewer, or $10,000 plus $499 for 31 or more, on Trimlight's dealer page today. The $499 buys the demo kit and colour chips; the rest becomes product credit. No royalties or monthly fees, a required two-day training in Salt Lake City at your own travel cost, and a protected territory you can lose if you fall under 10 percent of quota.

Do I need to be a dealer to install permanent lights?

Not for every brand. Oelo's Contractor tier has no fee and a smaller discount, and EverLights sells ClickLights kits to anyone at $1,675 per 100 ft. Trimlight, JellyFish and Gemstone sell through authorized dealers, and Gemstone's warranty registration and first-job approval both run through the dealer. Installing a dealer brand without being one usually means no parts warranty for your customer.

Can I carry two permanent lighting brands?

Sometimes. Trimlight's territory model and Gemstone's approval process both assume you are their dealer in your area; JellyFish's dealer page raises the question of competing brands without answering it publicly. Ask each manufacturer in writing before you sign. On the quoting side it is easy: one product line per brand on your rate card, with its own per-foot rate, controller price and warranty text.

How do I price different brands on one rate card?

One product line per brand and spacing, each with its own per-foot rate by run type, its own controller add-on and its own warranty text on the quote. The drawing stays the same; the customer sees the same house priced two ways. On our 170 ft worked house the default track line prices at $5,186.60 whichever brand you draw it with, because the brand changes your cost, not the customer's per-foot arithmetic.

Sources

25 pages checked for this article

  1. Trimlight: Trimlight vs JellyFish Lighting, key differences (Trimlight's own comparison), accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  2. Trimlight: Trimlight vs EverLights (Trimlight's own comparison), accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  3. Trimlight: Best permanent Christmas lights, how to compare brands in 2026 (blog), accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  4. Trimlight: Become a Dealer ($5,000 or $10,000 plus $499, protected territory), accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  5. Trimlight: Lifetime Product Warranty, accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  6. Trimlight: Pricing ($18 to $35 per linear foot), accessed September 7, 2026trimlight.com
  7. JellyFish Lighting: Track Lighting product details (6, 9, 16 in spacing, Omega Chip, 48V, 250 ft per controller, 5 years parts, 1 year labour), accessed September 7, 2026jellyfishlighting.com
  8. JellyFish Lighting: Pricing ($25 to $35 per foot, $650 to $850 controller, corporate locations), accessed September 7, 2026jellyfishlighting.com
  9. JellyFish Lighting: Permanent outdoor holiday lighting (three years parts, one year labour), accessed September 7, 2026jellyfishlighting.com
  10. JellyFish Lighting: Built to Last (IP67, 48 volt, 16 gauge wire), accessed September 7, 2026jellyfishlighting.com
  11. JellyFish Lighting: Become a Dealer (no franchise or territory fees), accessed September 7, 2026jellyfishlighting.com
  12. Gemstone Lights: FAQ (9 in spacing, 3 LEDs with 4 diodes each, 150+ track colours, 50,000 hours), accessed September 7, 2026gemstonelights.com
  13. Gemstone Lights: Warranty (lifetime on lights, 10 years on components, 1 year labour, transferable once, register within 30 days), accessed September 7, 2026gemstonelights.com
  14. Gemstone Lights: Dealer Opportunity (no territories, $10,000 to $15,000 initial inventory, $2M liability), accessed September 7, 2026gemstonelights.com
  15. Gemstone Lights: The Authorized Dealer Program (5 years in business, $2M revenue), accessed September 7, 2026gemstonelights.com
  16. Gemstone Lights: Permanent outdoor lighting (Hub and Hub2 controllers, 150+ track types and colours), accessed September 7, 2026gemstonelights.com
  17. EverLights: home page (25 colour-matching channel options, 5 year parts and 1 year labour when installed by EverLights), accessed September 7, 2026myeverlights.com
  18. EverLights: ClickLights 100 ft bundle ($1,675, 24V, aluminum channel in five colours, one year warranty), accessed September 7, 2026myeverlights.com
  19. EverLights: Warranty (labour not covered by the manufacturer warranty, registration within 90 days for transfer), accessed September 7, 2026myeverlights.com
  20. EverLights: Dealer landing page (minimal startup costs, no figures), accessed September 7, 2026myeverlights-4437302.hs-sites.com
  21. Oelo: Warranty (7 years on Authorized, Preferred and Platinum dealer installs, 5 years on contractor and DIY, from January 1, 2024; 100,000 hour rating), via search results, site refused our fetch September 7, 2026oelo.com
  22. Oelo: Why Oelo permanent holiday lights (acrylic channel, LEDs 10 in or closer, nine standard colours, metal channel), via search results, September 7, 2026oelo.com
  23. Oelo: Dealer tiers, commitment level and fees, via search results, September 7, 2026oelo.com
  24. Oelo: Dealer tiers 2024 (PDF), via search results, September 7, 2026oelo.com
  25. Manuals.plus mirror of Oelo's December 2023 dealer tier sheet (Contractor 5 percent, Authorized 15 percent, Preferred 25 percent off list), accessed September 7, 2026manuals.plus