Permanent lighting suppliers in Canada that sell to installers from a Canadian address today: Gemstone Lights (308-plus dealers, $10,000 to $15,000 starter inventory), Celebright (head office in Ottawa, no territories), GlowStone (Alberta) and Holiday Lights Direct (London, Ontario, 24 volt track kits from $949 CAD). For seasonal C9 and minis, five Canadian distributors ship nationally with free shipping from $99 to $500. Every row below was read on the supplier's own site on September 8, 2026.
I run a permanent lighting company in Ottawa and built GlowBid. This page is a directory, not a review: I have not installed every product on it, no supplier paid for a row, and there are no affiliate links. Prices are quoted only where the supplier publishes them, in the currency the site shows, with US figures converted at the Bank of Canada's 1.3840. Where a site refused our fetch the row says so.
Who sells seasonal C9 and minis to installers in Canada?#
Five Canadian distributors, all shipping nationally from Ontario or BC. None of them publishes a minimum order or a business-number rule on its site.
| Supplier |
Where |
What they sell |
Installer pricing |
Shipping in Canada |
Published prices (CAD) |
| Big Star Lights |
Canadian site (bigstarlights.ca redirects to the .com store) |
Commercial C9, minis, cord, clips, tools |
Free pro membership with a 10% code; Premium $699 a year with a 20% code |
Canada and the continental US; free ground shipping at $400 |
Membership $699; product prices on the store |
| Holiday Light Supplies |
Ontario warehouse |
C9 faceted bulbs, G20 globes, minis, snowfall tubes, pre-lit trees, garland, 12 V permanent kits |
Pro Installer Program: up to 40% off bulk and commercial orders, net-30 |
All Canadian postal codes; free over $150 |
C9 faceted 25-pack $45.00; 100 ft permanent kit $1,729.20 |
| LightingByHHD |
Ontario |
C9 and C7 LED bulbs, 12 in socket spools, SPT-2 in 500 and 1,000 ft, vampire plugs, shingle and gutter clips, minis |
B2B supply account for trade professionals |
Ships from Ontario across Canada; no free-shipping threshold shown |
C9 bulbs from $27.50; SPT-2 500 ft $120.00; vampire plugs $25.00 per 25; socket spools from $80.00 |
| Canada Christmas Lights |
British Columbia |
C9 and G30 bulbs, socket cable, power cables, minis, halo and multi clips, patio lights; RGB permanent "coming soon" |
Wholesale pricing offered to homeowners, installers, businesses and municipalities |
Free over $99 to most areas; flat rate elsewhere |
Not on the landing page |
| Christmas Lights Canada |
BC phone number; serves all provinces |
C9, G30, RGB permanent, minis, net, icicle, patio, poles |
Factory-direct pricing; pallet pre-orders |
Flat rate $35 to most areas |
Not on the landing page |
Two habits that save a season. Ask for the socket spacing in writing (12 inch is the C9 standard and the number the bill of materials assumes), and check the certification mark on the carton before it goes on a house: Ontario's Electrical Safety Authority says outdoor lights need a Canadian certification mark, and Canada Christmas Lights' "CSA/UL listed" line is a claim to verify on the product, not the home page.
Who makes permanent lighting in Canada?#
Four companies sell a permanent system from a Canadian address, and one Ontario distributor sells a 12 volt kit beside its C9.
| Manufacturer or distributor |
Where |
System |
Dealer terms published |
Warranty |
Shipping and certification |
| Gemstone Lights |
Gemstone Lights Canada Ltd.; 308-plus dealers in every province plus Yukon and NWT |
Track with nodes, Hub controllers |
No exclusive territories; $10,000 to $15,000 CAD/USD starter inventory for the first 5 or 6 installs (track extra); minimum $2M liability; vetting, training, a supervised first install and a quality review inside 90 days; licensing varies by region |
Lifetime on the lights, 10 years on other components, 1 year labour (per its warranty page on our brands comparison) |
ETL certified for Canada and the US |
| Celebright |
Head office in Ottawa, Ontario |
Low-voltage class 2 system; designs, engineers and supplies every component in-house |
No territories to buy; Celebright declines new applicants where a region already has adequate coverage; a starter kit, a service vehicle and basic tools; no ongoing fees; "in most regions you do not need to be an Electrician", check your local electrical authority |
10-year warranty |
Sold across North America; certification not stated on the pages we read |
| GlowStone Lighting |
Alberta (403 number on the site; Okotoks per its BBB profile) |
Permanent soffit lighting |
Tiered dealer program, dealer FAQs and pricing behind a Dealer Hub, a "Test Before Invest" option; figures not public |
10 years |
"CSA or ULC certified, as required in the US and Canada" |
| Holiday Lights Direct |
London, Ontario |
24 V LED pucks in aluminum track (beige, black, brown or white), controllers, power supplies |
Pro Installer Program; discount not published |
5 years on the LEDs |
Canada only; free shipping over $500 CAD; same or next business day by Canada Post; CSA; tested to minus 40 C |
| Holiday Light Supplies |
Ontario |
12 V roofline kits beside its C9 line |
Same Pro Installer Program as its seasonal stock |
Not stated on the home page |
Free shipping over $150 CAD |
| Minleon Canada |
Not verified: the site refused our fetch |
Permanent RGB and RGBW through a distributor-dealer network, per search results of its own pages |
Not verified |
Not verified |
Not verified |
Published kit prices, where they exist, are the fastest way to sanity-check a per-foot rate. Holiday Lights Direct lists 50 to 200 ft kits at $949 to $2,800 CAD, and Holiday Light Supplies lists 100 ft at $1,729.20, which puts product alone at roughly $14 to $19 CAD per foot before track colour, controllers, labour and warranty reserve. GlowBid's default track line prices roofline at $25 USD per foot, about $35 CAD; installers set their own, and the Canadian permanent cost page has what dealers publish.
Which US brands sell into Canada through dealers?#
Four, with very different buy-ins, and only one of them mentions Canada on its dealer page.
| Brand |
Based |
Dealer buy-in (published) |
Territory |
Canada today |
| Trimlight |
West Jordan, Utah |
$5,000 or $10,000 plus $499 for the demo kit; the balance becomes product credit; no royalties or monthly fees |
Protected, from the zip or postal code up, about a 1-hour drive edge to edge; lost if you fall under 10% of quota |
Canadian dealers exist (Calgary); mandatory 2-day training in Salt Lake City at your cost |
| JellyFish Lighting |
Utah (801 number) |
"Different opening purchase levels", not priced; no added franchise or territory fees |
Not described publicly |
Not mentioned on the dealer page |
| Oelo |
Site refused our fetch; figures are from search results of its own pages |
Authorized Dealer $5,000 USD with 20% off list; Preferred $25,000 with 25% off |
Not verified |
An Ontario Preferred Dealer is listed on Oelo's own site |
| EverLights |
Utah (385 number) |
"Minimal startup costs", no figure |
A territory is secured, terms not public |
Not mentioned |
The brands comparison has node spacing, voltage and the warranty terms side by side. What matters for a Canadian dealer is the line items the US pages do not print: whose currency the buy-in is in, who pays the brokerage on the first pallet, and whether the product carries a Canadian certification mark. Ask all three in writing before you send the deposit.
Can you order seasonal product from a US supplier?#
Yes, and the border is a line item. Christmas Designers, the Sherman, Texas supplier our equipment list prices from, runs a wholesale application with a dedicated rep and early-buy specials; its international shipping page, which refused our fetch and is quoted from a search snippet, ships orders over $1,500 and makes customs, duties, taxes and brokerage the customer's responsibility. Holiday Bright Lights in Omaha sells wholesale through its HBL Decorator program with a 3-year product guarantee and says nothing about Canada on its site. Village Lighting's shipping line says contiguous US only.
The arithmetic for a Canadian installer: a $1,500 USD order is $2,076 CAD at 1.3840 before shipping, duties, the tax collected at the border and the broker's fee, and the order arrives on a truck, not a Canada Post van. A 1,000 ft spool that is $239 USD at Christmas Designers is $331 CAD before any of that, against LightingByHHD's $120 CAD for 500 ft of SPT-2 landed in Ontario. Big orders and specialty product can still favour the US supplier; the first-season order rarely does.
What do dealer programs actually require?#
Money, insurance, a truck, and a first job someone watches. The details differ by brand and the table above has the published ones; what they share is worth knowing before you fill in a form.
- A certificate of insurance. Gemstone's page says $2 million minimum, covering damage while installing. The Canadian insurance page has what that costs and what to ask a broker.
- A starter kit or opening purchase. Gemstone prices it at $10,000 to $15,000 for 5 or 6 installs; Celebright says a "modest" kit typically recouped in 2 or 3 installs; Trimlight's $5,000 or $10,000 becomes product credit.
- Training and a supervised first install. Gemstone's onboarding, including online training, a first installation and a quality review, must be finished inside 90 days of approval. Trimlight's is two days in Salt Lake City.
- Territory, or none. Trimlight sells protected territories; Gemstone and Celebright say there are none to buy, and Celebright declines applicants where a region is already covered.
- Licensing. Gemstone says many areas require a licensed electrician or low-voltage licence and applicants must show they can pull permits; Celebright says most regions do not need an electrician for a class 2 system but to check with the local electrical authority. That is provincial, and it changes the crew you need.
Worked example: does a paid pro membership pay for itself?#
Big Star Lights is the one supplier here that publishes both tiers, so it is the one you can do the arithmetic on. Free membership: a 10 percent code. Premium: $699 a year for a 20 percent code. The paid tier only wins once the extra 10 percent it gives you is worth more than $699, which is $6,990 of annual spend.
| Annual spend with the supplier |
Free tier saves (10%) |
Premium saves (20%) less $699 |
Winner |
| $2,000 |
$200 |
$400 - $699 = -$299 |
Free, by $499 |
| $3,500 |
$350 |
$700 - $699 = $1 |
Free, by $349 |
| $6,990 |
$699 |
$1,398 - $699 = $699 |
Break even |
| $10,000 |
$1,000 |
$2,000 - $699 = $1,301 |
Premium, by $301 |
| $20,000 |
$2,000 |
$4,000 - $699 = $3,301 |
Premium, by $1,301 |
The supplier's own page says the membership "can quickly cover the cost" above $3,500 of spend, which is true of the gross discount and not of the difference from the free code. Lights run about $1,063 USD per 1,000 ft at the supplier prices on our equipment list, so a 15-house first season of 200 ft houses is about 3,000 ft and $3,200 of product, under the break-even, while a 40-house season is about 8,000 ft and $8,500, over it; both conclusions hold after converting to CAD. Holiday Light Supplies' "up to 40 percent" is tied to order size with no threshold published, so ask what order earns the top of that range. Draw the house in the free roofline tool and you will have the footage to ask with.
When do you order, and how much?#
Earlier than the supplier's page suggests, and from the drawing, not a guess. Only two suppliers here publish anything about timing: Holiday Lights Direct ships same or next business day by Canada Post, and Christmas Designers' wholesale page says thousands of items ship same day if ordered by 1 pm Central, with 2 to 3 business days of processing on international orders per its shipping snippet. Nobody publishes an October lead time, which is the one that matters. Order the season's stock in the summer and carry a buffer.
The quantity comes off the canvas. In GlowBid the bill of materials is counted from the same drawn runs that produce the footage and the price: bulbs at the line's spacing, cord by run length, one plug per run, clips per foot, nodes and track for permanent lines, plus the materials safety buffer, 10 percent by default and the installer's choice. Photo measurements are estimates confirmed on site, and the buffer is there for the run that measures longer at the eave. The permanent lighting quote template shows a bill of materials beside its quote.
Mistakes we see on the supply side#
- Ordering per job in November. The Ontario warehouses ship fast, but the colour you want is the one that sells out. Stock the season in August.
- Mixing bulb brands on one run. Two suppliers' warm white are two different whites on the same fascia. One brand per house.
- No certification mark. A carton with no CSA, cUL or ETL mark on a Canadian roof is an ESA problem and an insurance question. Check the mark, not the home page.
- Forgetting the border. Duties, brokerage and the tax at the border are yours on a US order. Price the landed cost, not the catalogue.
- Applying to a dealer program without the certificate. Gemstone wants $2 million of liability before the first install. Get the policy first.
- Assuming a territory is open. Trimlight's directory shows who holds your postal codes; Celebright closes regions that are covered. Check before the deposit.
- Skipping the buffer on a cold install. Track snaps and clips crack at minus 20. Carry 10 percent on the order, never on the price.
Where the bill of materials comes from#
The drawing. On one GlowBid canvas you draw the runs by type on a photo you own, set the scale from a garage door or a tape measurement, and the footage, the bill of materials and the price all come from the same lines: change the drawing and all three change. The order to any supplier on this page is the bill of materials with the buffer applied, in your names, not a manufacturer's catalogue. Core is $299 USD a year at the founding price, about $414 CAD, with a 7-day trial and no card, and the free roofline tool draws the house with no login until you export.